Shakespeare in Music and Words

Shakespeare in Music and Words

Regular price £12.99 Sale

Celebrate the life and works of Shakespeare with this unique new album - Shakespeare in Music & Words. 

The perfect introduction to the works of the world’s most famous playwright. The first disc features over an hour of music composed by some of the world's most accomplished composers, including Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky, Mendelssohn and Vaughn Williams, all of whom have taken inspiration from the words of Shakespeare to create beautiful music.

 The second disc explores the art of spoken word. Rediscover some of your favourite Shakespeare scenes and sonnets from his most renowned plays including Hamlet, Romeo and Juliet, Macbeth and The Tempest. Be transported to the stage with riveting performances by some of the nation’s most acclaimed actors including Vanessa Redgrave, Christopher Plummer and Sir John Gielgud.


  1. Dance of the Knights
  2. Fear No More the Heat of the Sun
  3. Je Veux Vivre
  4. Love Theme
  5. Scherzo
  6. O Plaint Let Me Ever Weep
  7. Ola
  8. Balcony Scene
  9. Ave Maria
  10. Come Away, Come Away, Death
  11. Patria Oppressa
  12. Touch Her Soft Lips and Part
  13. Wedding March
  14. Vous Soupirez
  15. Full Fathon Five
  16. The Cloud Capped Towers
  17. Over Hill, Over Dale
  18. Love Theme


  1. The Prologue
  2. Orsino Discusses His Love for Olivia
  3. Katherine’s Advice to Women
  4. Benedict Confesses His Love
  5. To Be or Not To Be
  6. All the World’s A Stage
  7. Juliet Impatiently Awaits Romeo
  8. Othello Tells How He Won Desdemona’s Love
  9. Epilogue
  10. King Richard Gives Way to Despair
  11. Anthony Addresses the Crowd After Caesar’s Assassination
  12. Macbeth Hears of His Wife’s Death
  13. Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer’s Day
  14. That Time of Year Thou May’st in Me Behold
  15. Let Me Not to the Marriage of True Minds
  16. Lear and His Fool on the Heath
  17. Anthony Dies in the Arms of Cleopatra
  18. Prospero Renounces His Magic Powers