Carols with St Pauls Cathedral Choir

Carols with St Pauls Cathedral Choir

Regular price £12.99 Sale

St Paul's Cathedral Choir is London's oldest and most illustrious cathedral choir. Since formation 900 years ago, they have grown to become a world renowned choir performing at international state occasions ranging from the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee to the funeral service of Baroness Thatcher.

This stunning festive album features some of the nation’s favourite carols, including Silent Night and Once in Royal David’s City, alongside new works such as Philip Stopford’s touching setting of the 16th-Century Lully Lulla Lullay, and the world premiere recording of Graham Jordan Ellis's captivating There Is No Rose.

This exquisite album is the first recording of Christmas carols by St Paul's Cathedral Choir in more than a decade - and it has been worth the wait. Andrew Carwood - Director of Music at St Paul's Cathedral says: "We have a whole array of carols - some very well known, some less well known - music that will speak to everyone directly. This is music for Christmas, and you can't help but love the Christmas season and the music associated with it.”

Track List

  1. Hark! the herald-angels sing (arr. Willcocks)
  2. Once in royal David’s city (arr. Willcocks)
  3. Silent Night (arr. Gruber)
  4. Ding dong! merrily on high (arr. Wood)
  5. There is no rose (Ellis) – world premiere
  6. In the bleak mid-winter (Holst)
  7. O little town of Bethlehem (arr. Vaughan Williams)
  8. Carol of the bells (arr. Fischer)
  9. Lully, Lulla, Lullay (arr. Stopford)
  10. Gaudete (Anon.)
  11. I sing of a maiden (Hadley)
  12. All bells in paradise (Rutter) – rarely recorded
  13. Angelus ad virginem (arr. Carter)
  14. The Shepherd’s Farewell (Berlioz)
  15. Benedicamus Domino (arr. Warlock)
  16. O holy night (Adam arr. Rutter)
  17. Adam lay ybounden (Ord)
  18. A New Year Carol (Britten)
  19. O come, all ye faithful (arr. Willcocks)